Tags

, , , , ,

It’s going well! And I cannot tell you how pleased I am to be able to say that again, it feels a long time coming!

After noticing that I’d been neglecting my Russian, and re-evaluating where things stood at the end of the year, I decided that if nothing else I could at least learn a word a day. So with that in mind, I’ve now being doing just that.

Contrary to what I thought would be hard about this new challenge (you know, actually learning the words), my main struggle has been deciding which words to learn. It sounds rather silly really, but choosing words that you think will be useful/come up a lot in conversation is surprisingly hard. Surely all words are useful? Some days I’ve chosen words that quite basic but essential, things like ‘when’, ‘why’ and ‘where’ (the 5 w’s from way back when have proved handy). Other days I’ve left it up to chance, flicking open either my Russian course book, or the novel I’m reading and choosing from a page. The mix so far is pretty good, although at some point I’m gonna have to try and string them altogether in a sentence that makes sense! – I’ll be sure to let you know when that happens too.

Be back soon with more updates!

