Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hello all!

This past week I did something I’ve never done before and went to see an improv comedy show entirely in German. Two things happened: firstly I laughed a lot, secondly I understood 95% of what was going on!

Because of this, I can’t wait to go again and here’s why you shouldn’t miss out on a similar opportunity either (note: I’m aware this can only really apply if you’re living in a country that speaks your TL)!

  1. You’ve probably never done it before – there’s a first time for everything, right?
  2. You will have fun and hopefully laugh lots!
  3. Improv comedy is incredibly visual – you will understand most of what’s going on, plus there’s a cool atmosphere!
  4. Anything’s better than grammar study

For those of you who aren’t in a position for this to be possible, my other piece of advice is to be on the look out for films or interesting comedy clips (long or short) in your TL – again it’s likely to be very visual to help you along, and you might just stumble upon hidden gems like Expedition Happiness (a German documentary I was lucky enough to see the premiere of!)

Until next time, keep working hard!

